Plenary Speakers

Professor Loh Kian Ping

Provost’s Chair Professor, Chief Scientist of Carbon Convergence Technology Laboratory, National University of Singapore. His research interests include: 2-D Covalent Organic Framework, graphene and 2-D Materials, Surface Science, hybrid organic-inorganic materials, eg. 2-D Perovskites, energy Storage, photocatalysis, porous membrane for separation.

Professor Dayong Jin

ARC Future Fellow, in biophotonics, nanotechnology & medical biotechnology. Director, ARC Research Hub for Integrated Device for End-user Analysis at Low-levels (IDEAL Hub), 2016–2021. Director, Institute for Biomedical Materials & Devices (IBMD), School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Faculty of Science, University of Technology, Sydney (UTS).

Invited Speakers

Professor Shixue Dou

Distinguished Professor and Director: Institute for Superconducting & Electronic Materials at the Australian Institute of Innovative Materials, University of Wollongong. He is program leader for ongoing Automotive CRC 2020 and ARENA Smart Sodium Storage System program. He has supervised more than 90 PhD students to completion and more than 60 postdoctoral and visiting fellows who have been widely spread across five continents.

Professor Cuie Wen

Distinguished Professor at RMIT University. Cuie specializes in new biocompatible titanium, magnesium, zinc, iron and their alloys and scaffolds for biomedical applications, surface modification, nanostructured metals, alloys and composites, metal foams and nanolaminates.

Professor Bo Zhu

Professor, Shandong University

Professor Arnan Mitchell ​

Professor in School of Engineering Cluster, electronic and Telecommunications Engineering, RMIT. His research interests are Integrated optics and photonics, photonic signal processing, Lab-on-a-Chip technologies and Microfluidics and microfabrication and microsystems.

A/Professor Qiaoliang Bao

Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering & ARC Future Fellow, Monash University. Qiaoliang Bao has over 150 peer-review publications in many prestigious journals such as Nature Photonics (1), Nature Chemistry (1), Nature Communications (4), Advanced Materials (6), Advanced Functional Materials (9), Light: Science and Applications (1), JACS (4), ACS Nano (14), 2D Materials (2), Nanoscale (4) and Chemistry of Materials (6). Overall citations ~15000, with an H-index of 50 (Google Scholar). 1 Book, 3 book chapters, 1 US patent and 50 international conference presentations.

A/Professor Hua Lu ​

A/Professor Hua Lu ​

A/Professor Shujuan Huang

Dr Shujuan Huang joined the School of Engineering, Macquarie University as an Associate Professor in 2019, with an adjunct position at School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering at UNSW Sydney. Her research has been focused on developing nanomaterials for future generation low-cost and high-efficiency opto-electronic devices, with particular expertise in solution-based processes, fabrication and advanced characterization of thin film, quantum dot and perovskite solar cells.

A/Professor Chenghua Sun

Dr Chenghua Sun graduated from Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2007 and then joined the University of Queensland as postdoc fellow. In 2013, Dr Sun joined the School of Chemistry, Monash University as a lecturer and established his group on Computer-Aided Catalyst Design. Later, Dr Sun was awarded ARC Future Fellow and joined Swinburne University of Technology in 2017. His research focuses on catalyst design for clean energy and environment applications, particularly for ammonia synthesis at room temperature, efficient methane combustion and biomass conversion.

A/Professor Da Wei Wang

Associate Professor in University of New South Wales. Since 2014, Dr Wang commenced a Lecturer position in the School of Chemical Engineering, The University of New South Wales. Future research in Dr Wang's group focuses on synthesis and electrochemistry of electrode materials (carbons, metal compounds and polymers) and advanced energy storage/conversion nanotechnology.

A/Professor Jie Zhang

Dr Jie Zhang is currently an associate professor at the School of Chemistry, Monash University and a Chief Investigator at the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science (ACES). Dr Zhang is an electrochemist by training who has developed a solid background in both the experimental and theoretical aspects of electrochemistry during his research career.  

Professor Tao Wu

Professor Tao Wu is a professor in the School of Materials Science and Engineering, UNSW Sydney, hired at the end of 2017, through the Strategic Hires and Retention Pathways (SHARP) scheme. His group explores the vapor- and solution-based synthesis and physical properties of novel materials, particularly transition-metal oxides and hybrid halide perovskites, in the forms of thin films, nanomaterials and mixed-dimensional nanocomposites. His research targets at diverse electronic, data storage and energy applications including field effect transistors, spintronics, nonvolatile memories, solar cells and photodetectors.

Professor Shuang Yang

Professor in Shandong University

Professor Xiaoli Zhan

Professor in Zhejiang University

A/Professor Chi-Tsu Yuan

Associate Professor in Chung Yuan Christian University

Professor Xiangping Li

Professor in Jinan University.

Dr. Lin Ma

Centre for Intelligent Photonics, Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

A/Professor Qin Li

Griffith School of Engineering Queensland Micro- and Nanotechnology Centre

Professor Alan Kin-tak Lau

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Swinburne University of Technology. Alan’s expertise is in the areas of aviation, advanced materials and manufacturing, and product design and development.

Professor Steven Langford

Professor Langford joined Swinburne in October 2017 as Associate Dean Research and Development. Previous to this, he held Faculty executive appointments at Monash University. He is a graduate of the AICD Company Directors Course, 2013, the Warwick International Program in Leadership and Management in Higher Education, Warwick University, 2012 and High Potentials Leadership Program Harvard University, 2011. He is an alumni of The University of Sydney where he undertook both a BSc with first class Honours and a PhD in molecular device development.

Professor Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem

Prof Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem is Deputy Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) and Associate Director of the Optofab Adelaide node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF). She is Senior Investigator of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP).

A/Professor Yuerui Lu

Yuerui (Larry) Lu received his Ph.D. degree from Cornell University, the school of Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 2012. He holds a B.S. degree from department of Applied Physics at University of Science and Technology of China. In 2013, he joined the Australian National University as a research fellow and lecturer under the Future Engineering Research Leadership Fellowship. In 2016, he was promoted to an associate professor at the ANU. His research interests include MEMS/NEMS sensors and actuators, nano-manufacturing technologies, renewable energy harvesting, biomedical novel devices, nano-materials, nano-electronics, etc.